Kinda Nervous... (Long)

Decorating By scionmom Updated 16 Nov 2009 , 4:51pm by JenniferMI

scionmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scionmom Posted 16 Nov 2009 , 2:10pm
post #1 of 5

Ok, I am kinda nervous about posting this, because I know how sensitive this topic can be from just reading some of the other ones. I am kinda expecting some not so good feedback, as well as some helpful advice. I have never charged for one of my cakes because I sometimes dont feel that I am a professional, I usually just do it because I love it. Lately, my DH has been telling everyone at his work that I 'do' cakes and I have been taking in experiments and leftovers and things like that. Well, a few people that he works with want me to do cakes for their childrens bday... BIG cakes... not just the easy old thing, oh and did I mention he has also told his squadron I would do the Christmas party cake... to feed 300. Have one that even wants me to do one that is a spin off of my dd bday cake.... Heres the thing, I put alot of work into them and at least want to reimbursed for the supplies. I have told them to let me know what they want and I will get back to them with a price... I am not a 'legal' baker (let the comments fly), so I have an ethical issue actually charging for my services. Am I right or am i just being a softie?? And if I do charge them... how much? I have sat and figured up what the supplies will cost and I am thinking... I know my time is worth so much more than that... but is it really? I am so confused!!! I know that you will all give me some good advice on how to handle this. I have even thought about telling them that if they pay for the supplies and then make a donation as what they see fit... but how am I gonna feel if they only give me like $5 for a donation?? I am sure they will definately be on the "no cake for you" list.. haha. CCr's, please share with me your endless wealth of knowledge on this!!!

Thanx, Theresa

4 replies