How Do I Get My Top Layer On Without Messing Up The Icing?

Decorating By JanessaJo Updated 6 Nov 2009 , 6:30pm by cakebaker1957

JanessaJo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanessaJo Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 10:11pm
post #1 of 20

Hey everyone! I'm new to this site and fairly new to cake decorating. I'm making my first double stacked caked and was wondering what is the best way to get the second layer on top without messing up the frosting? Also, if you could name one tip or trick to a beginner, what would it be? (I figure this is a quick way to get a few ideas from you professionals icon_wink.gif )

Thanks!!

=)

19 replies
Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 10:44pm
post #2 of 20

Well, I'm not a pro...

But here's how you get the top tier on. Cut the dowels to the length that you need, but only insert them halfway down into the bottom tier. Then set the top tier on and the weight of it will press the dowels in the rest of the way but leave you enough time to get your hands out.

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 10:44pm
post #3 of 20

Leave the dowels in your bottom tier up about an inch or so, set the top tier on there, and gravity will take it down.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 11:00pm
post #4 of 20

Or use SPS and then you can slide the tier into place!

JanessaJo Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 11:01pm
post #5 of 20

Do you have to use dowels? My top layer is going to be much smaller than the bottom one. and how do I get the top layer off the board its on and onto the top layer...with my hands? or with a tool?

ramie7224 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ramie7224 Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 11:06pm
post #6 of 20

don't take the top layer off of its board. Trim the board to the same size as your cake (or if you're piping a boarder, slightly larger).

pattycakesnj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattycakesnj Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 11:09pm
post #7 of 20