Mixing Rounds And Square - Proportions

Decorating By sillywabbitz Updated 7 Nov 2009 , 3:27am by sillywabbitz

sillywabbitz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sillywabbitz Posted 3 Nov 2009 , 8:23pm
post #1 of 10

I need to make a cake for 150 people. I am fine with a 3 or 4 tier cake.

I am a hobbiest baker and this is a cake for a friends 40th birthday bash. It's going to be a BIG party obviously and I'd like her cake to be special.

I currently have the following pans

12 inch round
8 inch round
6 inch round

9 inch square
6 inch square

In looking at Earlene's serving chart I don't really think I could make a pretty cake (proportion wise) with these pan sizes for 150 people.
Am I missing something? Do any of you more experienced bakers see a combo that would work for a 150?

The max pan size for my oven is 14 inches.

So here is my initial thought.

14 inch round (will have to buy the pan)
9 inch square
8 inch round

My concern is the 8inch round on the 9inch square. Are they too close in size?

Oddly I have a 14 inch cake dummy and I stacked them up and I don't think they look bad but having never mixed square and round, I would love any feedback from people who have done this. Or other suggestions on tier sizes. Also if I absolutely had to I have a friend with a larger oven that she would let me use.

I have tons of time. Party is in Feb. Would like to keep cost down because I'd rather spend the money on the Satin Ice and other things since I'm doing the cake as a gift. I know...very expensive gifticon_smile.gif

Thanks in advance.

Cristy

9 replies
Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 3 Nov 2009 , 8:49pm
post #2 of 10

Put the 8"pan on top of the 9" pan. How does it look?

Mike

sillywabbitz Posted 3 Nov 2009 , 9:19pm
post #3 of 10

I looked at it and it seems fine but not being experienced I have no idea once I get the buttercream and fondant on the cake if it will look ok or be right on the edge. Does that make sense?