Gumpaste Flower Cutters - Metal Or Plastic?

Decorating By xiswtsawluiix Updated 30 Oct 2009 , 1:36pm by Sweet_Guys

xiswtsawluiix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xiswtsawluiix Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 4:10am
post #1 of 8

I am very new to the gumpaste world. Can someone give me a tried and true foolproof recipe for gumpaste?

Which gumpaste flower cutters work best - plastic or metal? I would think the metal ones give a cleaner look, but can rust. The plastic ones seem to last longer. I am at a loss.

Which brand do you suggest from GSA?

I was thinking about buying these sets, JEM Cutters - Full Set 1 and 2.
http://www.globalsugarart.com/product.php?id=16992&name=JEM%20Cutters%20-%20Full%20Set%201

I'm afraid it won't work very well and I'll just end up buying more cutters for the same flowers - such as the moth orchid.

Any suggestions?

7 replies
Sugarflowers Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Sugarflowers Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 4:27am
post #2 of 8

The gumpaste recipe that I use is fondant and Tylose. I take about 1/2 pound of fondant and knead in 2-3 tsp. of Tylose. I like my gumpaste fairly stiff because I have very warm hands. You might like softer gumpaste so use a little less tylose. Work it into the fondant in small amounts until it becomes firm like playdough. Rub shortening over the ball of paste, wrap it well with plastic wrap, and then store in an airtight container. Let this rest for several hours or overnight. This allows the tylose to absorb some of the moisture in the fondant. Cut or tear off only the amount you are going to use immediately and knead it until it is smooth.

As for cutters I like the plastic ones better. To get a cleaner cut run your finger over the gumpaste while it's still in the cutter.

I really can't help you with the cutter set in your link. I don't have that so I can't say if it would be a good buy or not.

HTH

Michele

mygirlssweet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mygirlssweet Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 4:36am
post #3 of 8