R2D2 Cake Need Help???

Decorating By Lauren251 Updated 2 Nov 2009 , 11:40am by vagostino

Lauren251 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lauren251 Posted 27 Oct 2009 , 1:56pm
post #1 of 6

I am making an R2D2 cake in a few weeks and I have some ideas about how to construct this, but I wanted to know if anyone had any suggestions, tips or anything from you guys who have tried it before or even if you haven't.

I am thinking I am going to use a 7" round for the body well 3 of them. The top will be the sports ball pan (1/2 of it.) The arms I will make out of rice krispies with, which I have never used before. Any tips would be appreciated as to what recipe to use and when it is best to carve.

I have not quite figured out the structure part of it. I need something sturdy enough to hold 6 layers of cake plus the top will be 7. I am thinking of making my own stand and screwing a dowel into my base so it will be sturdy.

Thanks in advance. icon_smile.gif

5 replies
FlourPots Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FlourPots Posted 27 Oct 2009 , 1:59pm
post #2 of 6
Poetria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Poetria Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 12:26am
post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlourPots

Here's a really great photo tutorial: http://www.bsideblog.com/2008/06/making-the-most-amazing-r2d2-c.php

This tutorial is for a smaller version: http://smartmama.blogspot.com/2008/03/how-to-make-r2d2-cake.html

After reading the two links, I am still iffy about how to best attach the legs....any ideas??

vagostino Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
vagostino Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 12:38am
post #4 of 6

What I did was put two skewers into the arms, one on the top and the other one half way and then I "Stabbed" the arm into the body of the cake. Also, before doing this I put a lot of white chocolate in the body (midway only) and held it for a minute to make sure it was secure.

Poetria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Poetria Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 12:52am
post #5 of 6
Quote: