Help! Kind Of Long...

Decorating By ksmith1012 Updated 12 Oct 2009 , 8:56pm by floral1210

ksmith1012 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ksmith1012 Posted 12 Oct 2009 , 6:48pm
post #1 of 14

Hello Everyone! This is my first time posting a question here on CC- I've been browsing everyone's posts over the last few months and think that this is a wonderful community. I'm looking forward to getting more involved. Here's my story...

So I'm browsing in Michaels today in the cake decorating aisle- deep in "cakeland" thought, and all of a sudden a stranger comes up and starts asking me about cakes. Long story short- she asked me to do a cake for her for a baby shower THIS saturday! In either my eagerness to have my first client that was not referred, or out of naivety, I said yes. What she wants isnt too complicated- Half sheet cake with buttercream icing. Something "simple and elegant". She gave me the invitation, its one that has all the different pastel baby feet and pearlized dots and stripes. The colors are pastel pink, green and purple. She was adamant about NO FONDANT- so what am i left with to do? You can only do so much with buttercream on a sheet cake.

Now my question... Does anyone have any ideas for this kind of cake? Sheet cakes are not the kind of cakes I prefer to do. How do you make one cute? I would appreciate any feedback referring to ideas for the cake. Thanks in advance! icon_biggrin.gif

13 replies
ksmith1012 Posted 12 Oct 2009 , 6:51pm
post #2 of 14

Maybe I should have posted this in Decorating Ideas. I'm sorry, I didnt see that section.

floral1210 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
floral1210 Posted 12 Oct 2009 , 7:02pm
post #3 of 14