Baking Strips

Decorating By Lauren251 Updated 8 Oct 2009 , 5:41am by Lauren251

Lauren251 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lauren251 Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 4:55am
post #1 of 4

I bakec two different cakes tonight to decorate later this week and I used the baking strips on both of them. My problem is that I baked a round 9 in cake (which the baking strips worked and stuck to the pan perfectly), but when I tried to wrap the baking strips around the rectangle (9 by13 in) pan I could not get the strip to stay around the pan. The final result ended in the dome that I hate because it is just wasted cake... ughhh. On a bright note both cakes did not have crusted sides like usual.

Did I mention this was my first time using the strips, I have heard so many good things I just had to try them. I just dont know what I am doing wrong with the rectangular pan???

Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated I am a newbie and want to learn as much as possible, since cake decorating has become my new found passion icon_smile.gif

3 replies
lngo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lngo Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 5:22am
post #2 of 4

I posted a similar question a while back. A great idea fellow CCers gave me was to use a binder clip to secure the strips. You can find these big black binder clips anywhere.

SugarFrosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFrosted Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 5:28am
post #3 of 4

I have had this problem too. But I solved it.

I own two different types of rectangular pans. My 9x13 pans have a sort of handle that sticks out on each end and a lip all the way around the pan. I wrap the strip so that it is part way on top of the handles on each end, and under the lip along each side. Pulled tight and pinned.