Help Please...im Getting So Frustrated :x

Decorating By Princezzmudd Updated 4 Nov 2009 , 2:39pm by __Jamie__

Princezzmudd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Princezzmudd Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 7:49am
post #1 of 16

I have just recently started making my own MMF. I love this recipe and I love working with Fondant, but Im new at this, just starting out, I have covered 2 cakes and my fondant keeps tearing. Also every time I try to roll out the MMF, it looks like this....
CAn someone please help me and tell me what Im doing wrong?? Thank you so much for any help in advanced.
Angie
LL

15 replies
all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 8:41am
post #2 of 16

I don't know for fact, but mine gets like that when I've used too much shortening...whether when rolling or mixing.

Hopefully, someone will pop in that has more experience with the situation.

Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 10:42am
post #3 of 16

bump . Sorry, ive never made mmf before x

sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandslice Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 10:47am
post #4 of 16

I buy my fondant rather than using mmf but if those marks are made when you're rolling it, you could try dusting your rolling pin with powdered sugar.
Just a thought
icon_smile.gif

Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 11:01am
post #5 of 16

I use and make MMF a lot. It looks like it's a bit wet which is why you're getting those "sticky" looking marks.

Try adding a bit more conf. sugar, just a little at a time and kneed it in. You can also dust your surface and rolling pin with the conf sugar or corn starch.

HTH and good luck!

Echooo3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Echooo3 Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 2:34pm
post #6 of 16