Fondant How To Color It A Dark Color

Decorating By moma2_3kids Updated 1 Oct 2009 , 2:57am by DakotaDesigns

moma2_3kids Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
moma2_3kids Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 1:40am
post #1 of 17

I have tried for like two days now tring to color white fondant Navy blue like in the auburn tigers any helpful tip will much appreciated I am a newbie to fondant! icon_smile.gif

16 replies
cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 2:07am
post #2 of 17

It really has to do with the brand of color that you use. I love Americolor because the color is very strong.

mommyto6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommyto6 Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 11:56am
post #3 of 17

I have the same question, I am a newbie, and I tried to make my white fondant RED last night with the gel color, and by the time I had kneaded it almost the whole jar was used, and I used that much crisco that my fondant was so wet and was ruined! UGHHH

tatorchip Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tatorchip Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 1:48pm
post #4 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by moma2_3kids

I have tried for like two days now tring to color white fondant Navy blue like in the auburn tigers any helpful tip will much appreciated I am a newbie to fondant! icon_smile.gif

I used americolor for my fondant royal blue check out my photos I only have the one

jlsheik Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jlsheik Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 2:02pm
post #5 of 17

Airbrush it!

moma2_3kids Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
moma2_3kids Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 3:19pm
post #6 of 17

Thank you all I appreciate all the advice I have never heard of americolor before but will give it a try . Thanks again

tatorchip Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 3:39pm
post #7 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by moma2_3kids

Thank you all I appreciate all the advice I have never heard of americolor before but will give it a try . Thanks again