What Is The Best Tasting Usable Fondant?

Decorating By Cricketina Updated 23 Sep 2009 , 7:52pm by Sugarflowers

Cricketina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cricketina Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 3:49am
post #1 of 27

Please help I am new to cake decorating...Wilton fondant tastes horrible

I just tried Satin ice and Choco Pan fondant at Cake Camp this week and I liked them both...but several people there said they prefer Pettinice ! and MMF is raved about a lot on here!!!

My Question is what is your favorite tasting and workable fondant in your experience and why? icon_confused.gif

Thank you all icon_cool.gif

26 replies
LoriMc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LoriMc Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 3:59am
post #2 of 27

For me Marshmallow fondant tastes the best, but it is definitely harder to work with than store bought...especially when you are making bows and figures. I hate making it also!

I know most people prefer Satin Ice, but I do like the taste of Pettinice slightly better. They are both awesome for making any kinds of bows or figures or decorations and they are easy to knead color into unlike MMF.

lutie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lutie Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 4:03am
post #3 of 27

I have always made my own fondant, using the Michelle Foster's recipe...I add Creme Bouquet to my fondant, along with almond, vanilla, and butter flavoring...it is really, really good!

I use it to cover cakes, as well as making roses, figures, etc. It works, and I get compliments on my creative cakes...plus referrals!

Try it...you cannot go wrong!

itsacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
itsacake Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 4:06am
post #4 of 27

I'm a Pettinice fan. I find it easier to work with than Satin Ice and the taste is pretty similar.

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 4:11am
post #5 of 27

pettinice over satin ice...don,t like mmf...

FleurDeCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FleurDeCake Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 4:11am