Rkt Question

Decorating By mrsmc23 Updated 26 Sep 2009 , 5:20am by mvucic

mrsmc23 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsmc23 Posted 21 Sep 2009 , 1:12pm
post #1 of 14

I've never used rkt before and was wondering if you need to put anything on the rkt for the fodant to stick to it or if the fondant can go directly on top. TIA, cheryl

13 replies
renee2007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
renee2007 Posted 21 Sep 2009 , 5:28pm
post #2 of 14

I use buttercream to cover my rkt. But, I have seen posts where people use melted chocolate or nothing at all. hth

StaceyCakes75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
StaceyCakes75 Posted 21 Sep 2009 , 5:35pm
post #3 of 14

I think most people use a small amount of buttercream. I have used nothing before and it was just fine, but they were small details. If it was larger RKT details I think I would use BC.

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 21 Sep 2009 , 6:04pm
post #4 of 14

What I usually do is I rub shortening all over the RKT and cover in fondant. I prefer to use two layers of fondant to get a smooth finish.

Otherwise, just can just use water over crusted buttercream.

butterfly831915 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
butterfly831915 Posted 21 Sep 2009 , 6:20pm
post #5 of 14

do you compact the rkt to use them and if it is a large item should do like a brick style set up for putting it together or one large sculpt? How far in advance can you do this and they still be eaten? Please and thanks....

PattyT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PattyT Posted 23 Sep 2009 , 10:57am
post #6 of 14

Can I add RKT question too? Any ideas on keeping it crisp/hard?