Coloring Sugarshack's Icing?....sortof Emergency

Decorating By aprilbree Updated 20 Sep 2009 , 9:42pm by tame

aprilbree Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aprilbree Posted 18 Sep 2009 , 4:16am
post #1 of 12

Okay. Here goes. I actually already PM'd her, but just in case she doesn't get to it before tomorrow afternoon...(which i definitely understand)...

This is my first time using her buttercream. I wanted to do a practice cake, but failed to do so. I am doing a wedding cake this weekend, and the base color is a sage green. I bought "avacado", and it's the perfect color, so no mixing colors. I made the first batch, which came out perfect, but at the end, I realized I didn't add the color. So I added the color, and put it on 6 again. I don't think I added enough color, but anyway, it wasn't incorporating very fast, probably because of the large volume of buttercream, and my kitchen-aid was getting hot. So I ruined that batch by having to mix the color by hand, so it got air all over. I decided to use it for the filling and crumbcoat.

I made the second batch, and I'm not sure what happened, but my bowl was much fuller than the first bowl, but I'm positive I added the right amount of powdered sugar. It did come out a thicker consistency, but I'm wondering if I actually had too much shortening. Anyway, I added the coloring after I added the first four cups of powdered sugar, but I also had problems getting it to color right, again maybe because of the volume. I had to split the batch in half and color each batch again. So that batch is also very airy.

So, I took those two batches, filled and crumbcoated...and the icing dried marbly. in the bowls, my icing appeared to be well incorporated with color. And when I spread the icing on, it went on a little "harder", if you will. It wasn't creamy-creamy, but still spreadable.