Do You Have A 'i Won't Turn My Oven On For Less Than' Amount

Business By rharris524 Updated 7 Sep 2009 , 5:36pm by 1234me

rharris524 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rharris524 Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 3:38am
post #1 of 38

I'm pretty new to being in business so things are a little slow adn I hate to turn away business but I've been good about sticking to my guns about pricing (I'm proud of myself about that...but that's another story). I had a lady inquire about a red velvet cake for six (told her that 12 was my minimum)on Thursday evening for Friday. So I told her my price (sans a rush fee since I didn't want to turn down business) and she gawked and left. I felt like gawking at dealing with this rush cake for under $30...I'm actually glad that she walked away so I didn't have to deal with that added mission on top of my other orders. At this point, I'd have taken the order if she'd have placed it but at some point, I'd like to be at a place where I can have a minimum for my efforts. So, to all of your more experienced cakers, what is your minimum?

37 replies
CutiePieCakes-Ontario Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CutiePieCakes-Ontario Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 3:42am
post #2 of 38

I'm just starting out, too, and right now, I don't have a "minimum" perse, but I do make sure I charge for my time as well as the ingredients (and electricity, etc.).

Your time, and talent, are what they're paying for, not the cake ingredients. If that woman wanted a small cake within 24 hrs., she should have tried the grocery store bakery section. They have lots of 'ready to go' fancy cakes available - probably for about the same price as you would have charged for the Red Velvet one.

StaceyCakes75 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
StaceyCakes75 Posted 6 Sep 2009 , 3:56am
post #3 of 38

This topic has been discussed before. And yes I would say most people have a minimum. Mine is 40.00 and that is extremely low compared to others here on CC.