Making My Cake Moist Using A Cake Mix.

Baking By Kelliharner Updated 7 Sep 2009 , 3:17pm by 7yyrt

Kelliharner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kelliharner Posted 5 Sep 2009 , 1:20pm
post #1 of 8

I am really new at making cakes and am just now taking decorating classes. My cakes seem to be dry. What can I do to make them moist?

7 replies
Mike1394 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mike1394 Posted 5 Sep 2009 , 1:49pm
post #2 of 8

don't bake as long

Mike

Jen80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jen80 Posted 5 Sep 2009 , 2:05pm
post #3 of 8

And keep trying different recipes until you find some that you like.

Also, this is worth a try, I sometimes replace the milk with pineapple juice. That seems to make them more moist (but more dense as well).

starcitycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
starcitycakes Posted 5 Sep 2009 , 2:07pm
post #4 of 8

Do you add anything to the box mix?? I use a doctored cake mix. I only buy Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker. I add an egg, 1 cup of flour, 1 cup of sugar, an 8oz sour cream, a dash of vanilla flavoring and a pinch of salt plus whatever the box says to add. ALL my cake come out moist and super good using this.

HTH!!

glendaleAZ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
glendaleAZ Posted 5 Sep 2009 , 8:15pm
post #5 of 8

When I bake my cakes, I set the timer from 20 to 30 minutes depending on the size of the cake. I will then check the cake, by shacking the oven rack to see how much of the batter still wiggles. Once the top of the cake stops wiggling, I will use a tooth pick to check the cake every 5 to 10 minutes depending on how much batter comes away with the toothpick. (I bake at 350)

What you want to see on the toothpick is small cake crumbs, not batter. If the tooth pick comes out clean you've cooked your cake to long. Be sure to check the cake for doneness in several different places, before you pull it from the oven.