Colors

Decorating By Stogz Updated 2 Sep 2005 , 1:46am by TexasSugar

Stogz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Stogz Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 5:42pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to cake decorating. Just finished my 3rd wilton class in the first phase. I am having trouble getting good colors with the wilton icing. I tried to make red with no taste red and it came out just like my petal rose. Any suggestions?

Or how do you get a good red from Christmas red? It turns out hot pink the more you add to white icing. Thanks!

10 replies
debsuewoo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debsuewoo Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 6:11pm
post #2 of 11

You didn't happen to mix the lids and colors up, did you? One of the ladies in my class did that. As for getting the colors. I find that when I want deeper colors, I mix in the paste coloring until it's maybe a shade or two lighter than I actually want and let them sit in a covered container overnight. The longer you let the colors "mesh" the darker they will be.

Debbi

MainCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MainCake Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 6:33pm
post #3 of 11

I definitely recommend tinting the icing then letting them sit for while. I've made many a cake where I put the icing on immediately after tinting and it came out much darker than I wanted. This usually happens on baby shower cakes where I want a lighter/pastel shade and it comes out too dark. It happened with a 'knitted sweater and booties' cake that I made for a coworker's shower. I was going for light pink and by the time the color darkened (after I had already decorated the cake) it was almost hot pink.

It can be hard to get a darker red or black. I use wilton pastes but I find that it tends to cause the icing to separate a bit if I use a lot to get a darker color. Does anyone have any suggestions for different tinting agents?

ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ntertayneme Posted 23 Aug 2005 , 6:38pm
post #4 of 11