Martha Stewart..you Are Killin Me!! I Need Help W This One

Decorating By alwaysbridal Updated 1 Aug 2009 , 7:32pm by cylstrial

alwaysbridal Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alwaysbridal Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 3:34am
post #1 of 15

I feel Horrible but I've tried several things to upload this picture from martha Stewart site but After 2 hrs I give up the cake I have questions on is on her site www.marthstewartweddings.com
The name of the cake is with a flourish and its in Something blue cakes or you can do a search for with a flourish. I love this cake so I'm excited to do it for a bride that requested it, but I'm finding myself a little overwhelmed. she is only have 200 guest so I plan to use a few cake dummies. But here are the questions..
*What size cakes do you think they used, 14,12,10,8,6?
*What layers should I do Dummies? the 4th?
*With the floating layers on 2 and 4 do I use a regular cardboard cake board underneath? I've never done floating tiers before?
*The small 2" layers they have , I was thinking of using 2" specialty ordered cake dummies? Think that will add support, plus I dont need the cake?
*Should I do a standard stacking construction? using dowels on each layer and then buying a large wooden dowel that I can purchase at a craft store that can be sharpened at one end and inserted with tapping of hammer through the cakes, boards, and dummies?
*Would you construct the cake there (stack and dowel) or just do it before delivery? I will have about 5 miles to travel?
Thanks for all your time,effort and help!!

14 replies
antonia74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
antonia74 Posted 29 Jul 2009 , 10:02am
post #2 of 15

It was a cake featured in the Fall 2007 issue of Martha Stewart's Weddings magazine, if you can get your hands on a copy of it?

It usually has very clear step-by-step instructions at the back of the magazine for each cake featured inside, that would answer most of your questions here about sizing and construction. icon_smile.gif