New To Caking

Decorating By crazy__caker Updated 28 Jul 2009 , 11:00am by MrsMabe

crazy__caker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crazy__caker Posted 27 Jul 2009 , 2:20pm
post #1 of 16

I'm new to caking-and this forum. I'm 12, and I made my first cake in December for my mum's birthday.

Since then, I've made mainly cupcakes, but also 2 cakes for my friends' birthdays. I'm trying to get better at decorating cakes, without much success icon_redface.gif
So anyway! I've bought a bunch of stuff with my pocket money. I bought a offset spatula, a REALLY cheap turntable, and a set of 28 tips w/ a rose nail, and 100 disposable piping bags.
So. I'm making a cake for my grandmother in 2 weeks.
It's going to be a basket of flowers... HELP ME! I've NEVER done basketweave and NEVER used piping bags. I'm terrified. Any help you can offer is great!

15 replies
jobueno Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jobueno Posted 27 Jul 2009 , 3:26pm
post #2 of 16

hello there crazy__caker, and Welcome to CC!! In order to make a basketweave pattern you need a tip 43 or 42. this is something visual so you're going to need to go to the library or barnes and noble they have tons of how to books in cake decorating. You don't have to buy the books just take a peak and see how to do the pattern it's actually quite easy. The flowers however take a little practice and the more you practice the better you'll get at it. Good Luck! Hope this helps.

ps: go tot he wilton website they have the infromation you want. WWW.Wilton.com

MrsMabe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMabe Posted 27 Jul 2009 , 3:36pm
post #3 of 16

Hi, and welcome to CakeCentral!

I have two pieces of advice for you.

First, see if you can find either online tutorials or a book that shows you how to do basket weave and flowers. I have three Wilton Course books and they are very helpful even though I've never taken the classes.