Square Cakes, Sps & Indydebi

Decorating By Jannie92869 Updated 28 Jul 2009 , 5:00pm by Jannie92869

Jannie92869 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jannie92869 Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 2:37am
post #1 of 18

This is my first time doing square cakes.(My practice corners didn't make me happy today! Need help!) I am looking at the Wilton Serving Chart now. Can anyone suggest real sizes for tiers to meet 300 servings?

This will be my first time doing a cake this large, can I use a
SPS system to stack? I would transport it in 2 parts to the venue.

And it will be Indydebi buttercream in chocolate with champagne swirls....I need a suggested price. I know prices vary by areas but I would like to hear your suggested price with all these details.

Thanks in advance for your help. icon_smile.gif

17 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 3:00am
post #2 of 18

6/8/10/14/16 serves 18/32/50/98/128 = 308 servings
6/8/10/12/16 serves 18/32/50/72/128 = 282 servings

Buttercream cakes range from $2.50 to $5.00 or even $6.00, depending on location. I know our Alaska CC'ers have a high per serving price, but their ingredients are really expensive up there.

I'm envious you get to do a cake this size!

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 3:42am
post #3 of 18

I'm doing one in December! Except it's a main cake in the middle (without looking at the contract, trying to remember off the top of my head) a 6, 8, 10 (12? not sure) and another two 6 and 10" inch stack on both sides of that. It's gonna be hella cool!

newnancy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
newnancy Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 5:41am
post #4 of 18

SPS.....of course, the only way to go! I'm now a firm believer. I transported a 5 tier fully stacked.....extremely heavy, you will need strong help.

Jannie92869 Posted 25 Jul 2009 , 10:49am
post #5 of 18

Thanks for those quick replies.