I Need An Easy Way To Charge

Business By klewisdas Updated 12 Jul 2009 , 1:49am by TexasSugar

klewisdas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
klewisdas Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 4:51pm
post #1 of 7

I need some opinions here. I started decorating cakes as a hobby about 2 years ago. I'm not an artist (or even cake decorator for that matter) by trade. I don't really do the typical sheet cakes. I enjoy molding and shaping and making cakes unlike what anyone else in this area does. I live in NM, a state that does not allow you to run a business out of your kitchen, and I decorate cakes.
Because of this I have never done any kind of advertising or charging. I get cake request by word of mouth & take donations as a type of payment.
The problem with this is that I think I am barely breaking even on my cost and not making anything for my time. I spend hours on the cakes I make and end up with just enough cash to buy the supplies for the next cake request.
So what can I do? Can I request a starting price "donation"? or a flat price per serving? And by doing this am I going to have any problems with the health inspectors?

6 replies
FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 11 Jul 2009 , 5:04pm
post #2 of 7