I Need Help With Fondant

Decorating By elkinchahin Updated 10 Jul 2009 , 7:21pm by elkinchahin

elkinchahin Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elkinchahin Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 3:34pm
post #1 of 20

So Im trying to make a cake cover in fondant for SUnday for my nieces birthday, and Im having such a hard time to roll it and avoiding from breaking, any tricks anyone or how thin I should roll it....thanks in advance for the help

19 replies
Spuddysmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Spuddysmom Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 4:01pm
post #2 of 20

This is more a "bump" than a good answer. I'm not an expert - hopefully you will get better info from others. I learned by practicing. When I began I rolled it way too thin, but looking at "Ace of Cakes", and other shows you get an idea that usually folks roll it about 1/4 inch. Watching others cover a cake helps, but you can't get the feel until you try it on your own.

pattigunter Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pattigunter Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 4:08pm
post #3 of 20

Isnt friday a bit early to cover with fondant for a sunday party? Cant it harden by then? I'm paranoid about covering too early.

DancingCakes2008 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DancingCakes2008 Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 4:12pm
post #4 of 20

When I am having trouble with it cracking I just put shortening on my hands and knead until it is soft and smooth. Then roll out about a 1/4 inch thick making sure it doesn't stick

Renaejrk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Renaejrk Posted 26 Jun 2009 , 4:14pm
post #5 of 20