Kosher Wedding Cake

Decorating By Cher2309b Updated 2 Jul 2009 , 11:53am by Cher2309b

Cher2309b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cher2309b Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 11:02pm
post #1 of 33

My friend (mother of the bride) has asked me to help her make (my first) wedding cake. We have 7 weeks. Must be made in Yeshiva kitchen in Sydney, under supervision. Must be pareve. Im an amateur decorator but cannot use any of my equipment or usual ingredients. Therefore needs to be simple.
Thinking stacked cakes maybe chocolate mud and, perhaps, orange and poppyseed.
What fillings and icing???
Would ganache work with non-dairy cream? How would it taste?
I dont think buttercream with pareve margarine would taste nice; has anyone tried this?
Royal icing would look good (iced with rough texture) but wouldnt it be too hard?
My friend grows orchids (not sprayed) and we were thinking of decorating with these. Would we also need filler flowers? What can we use? (Its winter here.)
Now, how to transport it to venue?
Any advice would be very much appreciated.
Best wishes to all CCers. With thanks,
Cheryl

32 replies
artscallion Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
artscallion Posted 21 Jun 2009 , 11:14pm
post #2 of 33

Some of our UK posters might be able to help with this. Based on Toba Garrett's book, "The Well Decorated Cake," A typical cake in England is first covered in marzipan or almond paste, and then covered with a very smooth finish of royal icing. No butter cream or fondant. They're then decorated in various ways. This seems to be something that would be easier to adapt to kosher.

mclaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mclaren Posted 22 Jun 2009 , 9:00am
post #3 of 33

may i know why would dairy cream not be kosher? cream comes from milk from the cows, right, and cows are kosher animals, right?

leahk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leahk Posted 22 Jun 2009 , 10:24am
post #4 of 33