Homemade Or Cake Mix?

Decorating By jrod1974 Updated 18 Jun 2009 , 3:10am by snshin1993

jrod1974 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jrod1974 Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 1:28am
post #1 of 24

hi Ladies, curious what you are using to make your cakes....scratch or from a mix? I have done both...will be doing a wedding cake for the 1st time, just a little nervous. Wondering if i should just go with the mix? and suggestions?

23 replies
Lita829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lita829 Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 1:38am
post #2 of 24

Hi. I'm an exclusive scratch baker....just my personal preference icon_smile.gif

LittleLadyBabyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LittleLadyBabyCakes Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 1:42am
post #3 of 24

I feel like it depends on where you are...what you're doing...
Like, my friends, who have never ever had a professional, made from scratch, custom cake could care less if it is from the box or made from scratch...I almost feel like a perfectly executed recipe would be wasted on them icon_smile.gif
However, my friends that bake and get excited about a new recipe can smell a box cake a mile away... and, i wouldn't dare make a box cake for them! Just my thoughts. there is certainly a time and a place for a box cakeicon_smile.gif LOL!

lisa78332 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lisa78332 Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 1:42am
post #4 of 24

I use doctored cake mixes. I want to go to scratch, but haven't figured out cost.

Angel_Cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Angel_Cake Posted 15 Jun 2009 , 1:43am
post #5 of 24

When I'm baking for a special occasion, I usually try to bake from scratch. But since I started decorating recently and was taking the Wilton classes, I thought it was too much work to do scratch cakes for the classes, and have been using mixes- even after 3 months of class, everyone at work doesn't believe me when I tell them it's a mix. So I'm thinking I might just stick to mixes from now on, if they can't even tell the diff! icon_smile.gif