3 Down 3 To Go....i Am Exhausted....how Do You Do It!

Decorating By patticakesnc Updated 12 Jun 2009 , 9:27pm by Cathy26

patticakesnc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
patticakesnc Posted 12 Jun 2009 , 3:05pm
post #1 of 7

I have 6 cakes for this week. I know that is nothing compared to many of you. Granted I didn't start until Wed. on them. I had 3 done as of last night and am working on 3 more. (see my photos of what is done so far).

I want to know how you guys do it. I know Edna said something about having 10-12 wedding cakes a week lately. HOW! Edna do you have help? Granted I am a home cook and can only bake a layer at a time in my oven. Sometimes 2 depending on the pan. And I make my buttercreams as I go. But how do you hold up?????

6 replies
cakes22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakes22 Posted 12 Jun 2009 , 5:38pm
post #2 of 7

Oh I feel your exhaustion. I have a crazy week too, and I'm a home baker as well. 3 cakes + 24 cupcakes due on Friday/Saturday. Next week, I have a going away cake, 144 wedding cupcakes, a 3 tiered b-day/retirement cake (which I am traveling 500 kms to deliver to my FIL's party), & 12 Fathers day cuppies. Ugh!

I'm tried now.......and it's 1:30 in the afternoon.......

mandysue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mandysue Posted 12 Jun 2009 , 5:50pm
post #3 of 7

Ya, I'm so freakin' tired right now! I'm a home baker, plus I work full time and have 2 kids. This week, I did a 100 serving party cake, a 30 serving party cake, and a small dessert cake. I also had cake class one night. I'm taking Wilton Course III right now also, and I have to drive over an hour for class, and had to take a cake, frosting, fondant, etc. I was up til 3:00 Wednesday and 1:00 last night. Next week, besides cake class, I'm scheduled to make my cousin's groom's cake. I have an order for the following weekend also. I'm wishing for some time off!!!

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 12 Jun 2009 , 7:32pm
post #4 of 7