Making Bc Edges Look Like Fondant

Decorating By EatSomeCake Updated 23 May 2009 , 8:11pm by imamommy1205

EatSomeCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EatSomeCake Posted 23 May 2009 , 4:38pm
post #1 of 13

Does anyone know how to get this very smooth edge on these buttercream cakes. I've been doing cakes for 15 years and I am amazed how chickadee hill cakes (www.chickadeehillcakes.com) can the edges so smooth you could almost mistake it for fondant. I hope they show up in the attachments, if not check her wedding section of her web site. I imagine it's directly related to the consistency of her buttercream and using mylar? plastic around the edges. I'd love to hear any thoughts you guys have! Incredible!/Users/tiffany/Desktop/IMG_9295cake.jpg/Users/tiffany/Desktop/235-3552_IMG.JPG/Users/tiffany/Desktop/IMG_2612.JPG/Users/tiffany/Desktop/IMG_2351.JPG
LL

12 replies
EatSomeCake Posted 23 May 2009 , 4:40pm
post #2 of 13

here's another one
LL

EatSomeCake Posted 23 May 2009 , 4:41pm
post #3 of 13

another one...
LL

EatSomeCake Posted 23 May 2009 , 4:43pm
post #4 of 13

another one...
LL

EatSomeCake Posted 23 May 2009 , 4:47pm
post #5 of 13

here's a better image of the last one, sorry about that!
LL

BeesKnees578 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BeesKnees578 Posted 23 May 2009 , 4:56pm
post #6 of 13

I would love to work strictly in fondant. I hate smoothing buttercream b/c I suck at it.

I have been inventing a tool in my mind that would get such results, but I ALWAYS have tons of bubbles in my buttercream. I have found that putting on a regular coat and refrigerating it until firm, and then adding a second coat fills in many of the bubbles, but still, it doesn't look like chickadee hill's. No where near it, to be more precise icon_mad.gif The paper-towel thing doesn't work for me either. . .I don't think I press hard enough for fear of moving the icing?? I have thought about using the mylar, too. Think I'll try that for my Monday cake.