Once Sympathetic, Now Empathetic! (Long Rant)

Business By jadak Updated 25 May 2009 , 3:07pm by margaretb

-Tubbs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-Tubbs Posted 22 May 2009 , 2:48pm
post #31 of 50

OK, I'll accept that I have no idea how hard it is being a teacher. I'm sure the area and the schools, even the unions (our area is heavily unionized) makes a huge difference to the teaching experience too.

To be honest, I think most of us have no idea how hard it is doing any job, just like nobody else has any idea how hard we work baking and decorating (just cake, right?). My DH is an engineer and never sleeps due to stress related to the fact that if he screws up, power plants blow up. To me, HE really deserves some extra appreciation, but never gets it.

crazyteach Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crazyteach Posted 22 May 2009 , 2:54pm
post #32 of 50

Tubbs-- I want to come and teach where your friend is teaching-- I am a special ed teacher and I have a small class. I work my behind off. I have IEP, triennial, and consultation meetings all the time- before and after work. This is along with the meetings that all the other teachers have to have. Yes we have some professional days built in for training, but we have to keep our certicificates up- so we take extra classes and training. Here in VA we have to take 20 hours of training during the summer! Yes I love my job-- but it is not a walk in the park as you make it sound like. I do cake decorating on the side to make extra money! Yes we have a a few days off for Thanksgiving, a Christmas break and a spring break-- For the pay we get-- it is well deserved--and summers most teachers don't just forget about school-- they are planning for next year.