How Much Would You Charge?

Decorating By ajjhmf Updated 18 May 2009 , 4:33pm by Creative_chika

ajjhmf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ajjhmf Posted 18 May 2009 , 12:29am
post #1 of 24

I made this cake for my daughter's recital this weekend. My family loved and and my SIL asked when I would charge for something like that. I honestly have no idea. I'm really new at this, so I don't think I'm good enough to charge and everything takes me so long to do. I was thinking something in the $75 dollar range. Is that enough?

It sounds high for a party cake, but at the same time, I put a lot of work into it.

Oh, it's a scratch baked, 8 and 6 inches, butter cream covers with fondant accents.

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1371489

23 replies
Rose_N_Crantz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rose_N_Crantz Posted 18 May 2009 , 2:43am
post #2 of 24

I was thinking 75 might be on the low end. You should really take into account your area too. I know a lot of people on here will disagree, they'll say you should get paid what your worth, and I agree, but if the only cake places around your area are grocery stores, then you might have to start out on the low end just so you have a fighting chance. Then once you start building a client base and gain more experience, then you can start to raise your prices.

If it matters, I just made two 10" round cakes for a cousin's daughter's birthday. All buttercream decorations, I charged her $50.

yamber82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yamber82 Posted 18 May 2009 , 2:54am
post #3 of 24