Chocoholic Lovers Only!

Baking By lat1nacurv3s Updated 4 Jun 2009 , 1:00am by havingfun

lat1nacurv3s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lat1nacurv3s Posted 17 May 2009 , 3:35pm
post #1 of 9

Hello All!! I'm a newbie here to the forum and to baking. I've only made the doctored up cake mix types and think they're fab! At least I haven't had any complaints from my fam or friends.

I'm looking for some additional heavenly decadent chocolate doctored up cake mix recipes though. I've seen several different recipes here in the forums. And I've also purchased a few cookbooks (Hello, Cupcake, and books by The Cake Mix Doctor).

But I was hoping that some of you members wouldn't mind sharing your fav's in this post. Possibly including fillings and frosting's as well. Maybe share your fav chocolate pairings too?

The following red velvet cupcake recipe is not my own, it's from the book Cupcakes from the Cake Doctor. It's divine and I've been told it was better than Sprinkles red velvet cupcake. WHOA!

I did not use the white chocolate peppermint cream cheese frosting as suggested in the book. Instead I made a regular cream cheese frosting (with pure vanilla) and topped it with finely chopped pecans...so very scrumptious!!

Red Velvet Cupcakes
1 pckg (18.25 ounces) plain German chocolate cake mix
1 pckg (3.4 ounces) vanilla instant pudding mix
1 cp sour cream
1/2 cp water
1/2 cp vegetable oil
1 bottle (1 ounce) red food coloring
3 large eggs
Fold in:
1 cp miniature semisweet chocolate chips after mixing other ingredients.

Bake 350 deg for 18-20 min. Makes 22-24 cupcakes.

P.S. I want to try my hand at a peanut butter frosting and pair it with a chocolate cupcake. I got this from Barefoot Contessa called Kathleen's Peanut Butter Icing, here's the recipe:

* 1 cup confectioners' sugar
* 1 cup creamy peanut butter
* 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
* 3/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
* 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
* 1/3 cup heavy cream