Order Of Things With A Cake Tasting?

Business By EatSomeCake Updated 15 May 2009 , 10:37pm by 350BakerStreet

EatSomeCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
EatSomeCake Posted 13 May 2009 , 10:51pm
post #1 of 15

I have my first cake tasting this upcoming Monday. Although I've done wedding cakes before I have never done them for non family/non friends. I'm a little nervous about the order of things. Not sure if the bride should taste the cakes first or last. I'm thinking first so she can decide if she likes the taste to see if she wants to even bother discussing the design of the cake. Should I send the cake contract with her or fill it out there. I don't want her to feel like I'm a car salesman if I have her do the contract then and there...I thought this would be easy but as the day gets closer I'm starting to play different scenarios of things going wrong in my head and getting panicky. Does anyone have any words of wisdom?

14 replies
Brownie1954 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Brownie1954 Posted 13 May 2009 , 11:05pm
post #2 of 15

I always let them taste the cake first. Then we discuss what they liked, and didn't like about them. From there we discuss the cake design. I get information like when/where is the wedding, the reception, how many guest are they having, the cost etc. I fill out the contract, and let them sign it. They have two weeks from the time they sign it, so contact me, and tell me if they are going to use me. They then have to send in half the cost of the cake. It isn't like a salesman to me. If you don't get them then, it's hard to get back with them.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 13 May 2009 , 11:26pm
post #3 of 15

I also let them eat the cake first. I give them about 2 minutes alone, then come back in and tell them I'm going to take some notes (on my laptop) so I can send them the proposal based on what we talk about today.