Stacking Question

Decorating By Tootall Updated 11 May 2009 , 2:57pm by Tootall

Tootall Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tootall Posted 11 May 2009 , 1:50pm
post #1 of 11

Ok, I'm going to be attempting a crawfish boil cake for my Major's retirement party here at work. I'm planning on making it a 10" chocolate WASC cake, and I'd like to make it 3 layers. I've read that if I make it that tall, I need to use horizontal and verticle supports. So I was planning on stacking the two layers like I usually do, then putting a cake board down and then putting the 3rd cake layer on top of that, then using dowels hammered all the way through into the bottom cake boards. My question is, is that correct? And second, what can I cover the middle cake board with? Won't the board get soggy if I just leave it plain cardboard? I use Wilton boards, if that helps. I'm not a pro, just a hobby baker. I REALLY don't want my major's cake to fall all over the place. LOL Thanks for your help guys! I'm excited about this one. icon_smile.gif

10 replies
michellesArt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
michellesArt Posted 11 May 2009 , 2:00pm
post #2 of 11

oh i need to bump this cuz i have a similar question-how do you keep the icing from sticking to the layer/icing/tier under it? i had a consultation recently and my bride and her mother were obsessed about this issue and would like to know if i can reassure them that it won't be a problem (they are for now opting for seperate cakes) hope we get some answers soon icon_smile.gif

Tootall Posted 11 May 2009 , 2:03pm
post #3 of 11

Oh, I hope so, too! icon_smile.gif I know the experts around here can answer both of our questions icon_biggrin.gif

Joybeth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Joybeth Posted 11 May 2009 , 2:04pm
post #4 of 11