Fondant... From Scratch Or Not?

Decorating By jolie1977 Updated 11 May 2009 , 11:55am by Loucinda

jolie1977 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jolie1977 Posted 6 May 2009 , 1:35pm
post #1 of 20

I'm relatively new to decorating and love using fondant, although the only fondant I've used to date is the Wilton Ready-Made Fondant. I find the taste "OK", but I feel there has to be room for improvement. I tried a recipe for fondant from scratch, but am still not 100% convinced that it's the perfection I'm seeking, the one I tried was almost TOO sweet... I'm wondering if most professionals make their own fondant or purchase "ready-made" fondant? What's most cost-efficient and also time-saving? Any suggestions would be much appreciated!!! I have 3 wedding cakes to make, all with fondant, and would like to find the "perfect" fondant that would be "time efficient", "cost-saving", of good consistency AND "melt in their mouth" ! Does that even exist??? ;o)

Sincerely,
Joline

19 replies
RetiredNavyChief Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RetiredNavyChief Posted 6 May 2009 , 1:38pm
post #2 of 20

Which fondant did you try? I have made the MMF, but i do see alot of people on here use the white chocolate fondant. Check out the receipe section, it has really helped me.

Kimmers971 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kimmers971 Posted 6 May 2009 , 1:42pm
post #3 of 20

Personally I like the taste and consistency of Satin Ice. I have yet to try to make my own, but will eventually icon_biggrin.gif

BakerzJoy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakerzJoy Posted 6 May 2009 , 1:45pm
post #4 of 20