Mmf Stars?????

Decorating By pbeckwith Updated 3 May 2009 , 4:53pm by Katiekatiekatie

pbeckwith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pbeckwith Posted 3 May 2009 , 3:16pm
post #1 of 6

I'm just a home baker - for friends and family and whenever I've had a question, you folks are so prompt to answer and have been such a help to me. I'm always checking the site - my husband says I'm obsessive. But I love this site and love looking at all the beautiful work you do.

Anyways, I'm doing a 3 tiered cake with buttercream and want to put white, black and red stars on it and on wires also. I've only ever worked with mmf a couple times and never used any other kind of fondant. Will the mmf be too soft to do this or should I use another kind of fondant? And should I make the stars a week or so in advance to be sure they "set up"? Also, when I make black icing for my cookies, I usually put cocoa powder in it along with the powdered sugar - don't have to use so much black color. Can you do the same for the black mmf?

Thank you so much.

5 replies
shelbur10 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shelbur10 Posted 3 May 2009 , 3:23pm
post #2 of 6

MMF should be fine if you make them early enough to dry (a week should be good). I'm not sure about adding cocoa powder to the MMF...it should be fine as long as you leave out some of the PS, so the consistency isn't affected.

pbeckwith Posted 3 May 2009 , 3:50pm
post #3 of 6

Thanks so much. I'm excited about doing this cake - it's a graduation cake for a friend and of course the school colors are red, black and white. I'm just hoping the stars on the wires work out for me.

Katiekatiekatie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Katiekatiekatie Posted 3 May 2009 , 4:05pm
post #4 of 6