Help Painting On Gumpaste

Decorating By kurrie Updated 1 May 2009 , 12:58pm by Sabz

kurrie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kurrie Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 2:59pm
post #1 of 18

Hi all! I am new to cake decorating and was wondering if you could offer some suggestions on how to paint on gumpaste. I made some butterflies and used food coloring gel but didn't know if there was an easier way.

Thanks for any help!
Kari

17 replies
elvis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elvis Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 3:02pm
post #2 of 18

Hey- it's very easy to paint with food coloring gel as long as you have something to mix it with that has a very high alcohol content. For example, I use vodka---the alcohol evaporates, leaving the color--very quickly.

Some extracts have a high alcohol content--I know that peppermint extract does...and I'm sure some others do too. Just paint as if it were watercolors.

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 3:03pm
post #3 of 18

it might go easier is you mix it with some vodka. or you can mix dusts (like lustre, pearl or petal depending on the look you want) with vodka and pait that on. you can use them dry too for a different look.
xx

kurrie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kurrie Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 3:10pm
post #4 of 18

Thanks for the quick reply! I was using water to mix it with. Never thought of Vodka. Good to know for the next batch. Are there special paints available to make it easier or is that my best bet?

TC123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TC123 Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 3:10pm
post #5 of 18

Hi kurrie! Welcome to CC!!! I use vodka, and sometimes lemon extract.

Have fun!!! icon_smile.gif

TC123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TC123 Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 3:14pm
post #6 of 18

Oh ~ and like brincess_b mentioned, I also use the petal, lustre or pearl dusts. They come in such a wide variety of colors!

jillycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jillycakes Posted 17 Apr 2009 , 3:16pm