Wilton Stand-Up House Pan: Tips?

Decorating By Vivalawvegas Updated 5 Apr 2009 , 8:18pm by KlyKat

Vivalawvegas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Vivalawvegas Posted 1 Apr 2009 , 11:04pm
post #1 of 10

I'm using the 3D house pan for the first time for my DD's birthday cake this weekend. It will sit on a 1/2 sheet cake and will be a barn for a barnyard birthday party.

I've never used it before (never stacked a cake before, either) so any tips/tricks for a newbie?

I've got wooden dowels for support (no time to order/find bubble tea straws).

Should I put a center dowel through both cakes or will support dowels be enough?

Also, should I use something like a pound cake for the house for more stability?

TIA!

9 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 2 Apr 2009 , 1:58pm
post #2 of 10

I'm not sure which pan you are referring to but........if it's a small sq/rectangle maybe 3"x5"x4" you will not need to dowel that. If you still prefer to use regular drink straws....doesn't have to be bubble tea ones icon_wink.gif
You will not need pound cake.....but can make your cake a bit more firm by adding 1/2 cup sour cream or yogurt to the batter.
If you have anymore ?s don't hesitate to post or pm me.

Shyanne_Mommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shyanne_Mommy Posted 2 Apr 2009 , 2:09pm
post #3 of 10

I have the pan you are talking about and I think your best bet would to be dowells where the cake is going to be sitting on the sheet cake then take a cake separator plate and place it on top and then place the house/barn on top of the plate. This should give you the support you need.

I am also going to be doing the house for the first time in May. I have used the 3-d pooh pan it didn't use the pound cake as it on the box and it worked fine. I just used betty cocker and added a box of pudding and it made it nice and firm.

sportsmom005 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sportsmom005 Posted 2 Apr 2009 , 2:09pm
post #4 of 10