How Can Anybody Be So Dumb ... Twice!!!

Decorating By majka_ze Updated 31 Mar 2009 , 12:48am by solascakes

majka_ze Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
majka_ze Posted 30 Mar 2009 , 8:43pm
post #1 of 8

I am a scratch baker.
I already mentioned in another thread that I don't have a single ingredient in original package. My sugar, salt and some others are in empty, washed out instant coffee glasses.
Think what? When I last refiled salt, I gave it in a 1/4 full glass of - sugar. As you can see, I am a bit thrifty. OK, let say it aloud, I am cheap. icon_redface.gif
I scraped the salt where it was salt alone and instead of throwing the rest away /where it was half salt and half sugar/, I thought I leave it for salad dressing. There come both, aren't they?
Last time I baked sponge cake, I noticed that I grabbed this can in the very last moment. Just before the salted sugar went into the bowl with eggs. But I didn't get it then.
Yesterday, I baked cake for my family. Nothing big, simple kitchen cake. Guess what? This time instead of sugar went into the mix 3/4 cup of salt. icon_mad.gif
Luckily, I noticed it before setting it in the oven. At least the vice of licking the bowl brought something good. The batter was very quietly thrown away and I started again. Well, this time it got across. By tempting the fate for the third time I would surely serve somebody very tasty cake!

7 replies
MessiET Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MessiET Posted 30 Mar 2009 , 8:53pm
post #2 of 8

Oh no... maybe all you need is a set of labels for your jars. That way you know exactly what you are getting. HTH

pastryjen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pastryjen Posted 30 Mar 2009 , 8:57pm
post #3 of 8