Stacking Cakes With Bc

Decorating By PattieCake81 Updated 24 Mar 2009 , 9:40pm by sugarshack

PattieCake81 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PattieCake81 Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 6:06pm
post #1 of 12

Forgive me if this questions is ridiculous. I am very new to cake decorating. How do I stack cakes iced with bc without messing up my icing? Is there a trick to it? Any advice is appreciated!

11 replies
ColeAlayne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ColeAlayne Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 6:24pm
post #2 of 12

Don't feel bad. I have done many cakes and still want to know what the trick is!!! I can't seem to stack them without making a mess...help!

kweenofengland Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kweenofengland Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 6:25pm
post #3 of 12

I posted the exact same topic a few months ago. Most people told me to sprinkle powdered sugar on the bottom cake before putting the next layer on. Others told me to use coconut. I have just started trying this and the coconut seems to work better for me. the only problem is that now you have coconut on the cake and some people dont like coconut. also, putting dowel rods in helps to keep the upper cake from totally smashing into the icing of the lower cake. that is all i can tell you as i am still learning myself! good luck!

tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 6:30pm
post #4 of 12

Here's a link to Edna's stacking video on youtube

Maybe it will help you.

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 6:34pm
post #5 of 12

I use cake crumbs instead of PS or coconut.

As for getting the tiers in place without getting your fingers in the icing of the bottom tier, hold the cake by the cake board just over the bottom cake exactly where you want it to be. Hold it as low over the cake as you can without touching the cake. Let go of the cake. It will drop in place. It takes some practice to do this right.

tonedna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile