Raspberry Filling

Decorating By christinashea Updated 24 Mar 2009 , 8:55pm by djs328

christinashea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
christinashea Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 11:08am
post #1 of 13

Hi, I'm doing a cake this Saturday and the lady wants a white cake with a creamy(like a mousse or something) raspberry filling. I have never done this before and I was wondering if anyone had any recipes or suggestions. The only problem is that I need to assemble it the night before and decorate it the next day. What holds up? I have to deliver the cake by 12 and the party is from 1-3. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.-

12 replies
flamingobaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
flamingobaker Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 11:54am
post #2 of 13

You can mix raspberry filling into your BC icing. Just add enough 'til you think it tastes good.
I tried using jam once, but personally thought it made it too sweet compared to the filling.

Peet Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Peet Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 12:53pm
post #3 of 13

I mix the raspberry puree (CC recipe) with my SMBC and it tastes wonderfull. I usually add two layers, one with fruit puree and one layer with the mixed SMCB.

prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 7:10pm
post #4 of 13

Raspberry Mousse
Stir seedless raspberry jam to "loosen" it. Fold into stabilized whipped cream.

OhMyGanache Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OhMyGanache Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 7:24pm
post #5 of 13

I don't like pure "mousse" fillings... because they cause a cake to settle more. I like thick fillings, so I do a white chocolate raspberry (mock) mousse. I make a whipped white chocolate ganache and mix in raspberry puree. If I want something a little lighter, I will whip up some Pastry Pride (or bettercreme?) and fold it in. It's light and airy, yet thick enough that your cake won't settle.

Mme_K Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mme_K Posted 24 Mar 2009 , 7:41pm
post #6 of 13