What Are These Figures Made Out Of? *photo*

Decorating By heidi_anne Updated 20 Mar 2009 , 2:09pm by anabelz01

heidi_anne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
heidi_anne Posted 20 Mar 2009 , 1:51pm
post #1 of 6

Please excuse my inexperience. I am very new at making cakes.

What are these figures made from? And where can I purchase some of it? I realize that they are hand sculpted. Im just amazed and blown away by the talent on this website!!

Also, I wanted to state that this cake was made by Helen Brinksman.

[/img]

5 replies
beck30 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
beck30 Posted 20 Mar 2009 , 1:58pm
post #2 of 6

It looks like gumpaste or fondant gumpaste mixture. Both you can make or buy at a supply store or order online.

anabelz01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
anabelz01 Posted 20 Mar 2009 , 2:05pm
post #3 of 6

Hi! It could also be a non-edible medium like fimo or something? I had a wedding topper simular to this on my wedding cake but it was fimo which meant I have been able to keep it as an ornament! However if I was to make these from an edible material I would like beck30 def use a gumpaste or mexican modelling paste mixture!

Naturepixie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Naturepixie Posted 20 Mar 2009 , 2:07pm
post #4 of 6

I would also say fondant or gum paste or a mixture of both..
The figures are adorable.. icon_smile.gif

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 20 Mar 2009 , 2:07pm
post #5 of 6

If that is sitting on a cake, it should be fondant/gumpaste. Very cute! Love the sparkly light saber!

anabelz01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
anabelz01 Posted 20 Mar 2009 , 2:09pm
post #6 of 6