Where Do You Buy Your Fondant Tools/stamps?

Decorating By Heavenlydelights107 Updated 12 Mar 2009 , 5:30pm by Heavenlydelights107

Heavenlydelights107 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Heavenlydelights107 Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 2:25pm
post #1 of 14

I am fairly new to fondant and have almost no tools at all. I have afew cakes coming up that I need to make with fondant accents, butterflies etc.

Where do you get your stuff? I was going to try Michaels and Joanns, but I was not sure what they had as far as fondant stuff.

Thanks!

13 replies
CakeMommy3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeMommy3 Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 3:28pm
post #2 of 14

I just started with fondant myself, and I have gotten quite a few things from those same stores. But don't limit yourself to the cake isle! Someone on this site found cute impression letter sets on the stone paver isle. I just found the cutest plastic mold set that was made for plaster of paris (they had some butterflies in there too!) Just wander around for awhile and keep your mind open. You will find tons of stuff.

chikie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chikie Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 4:23pm
post #3 of 14

Go to the clay and scrapbook section. Anything used for clay can be used for fondant and I use the clear stamps (scrapbook) also.
LL
LL

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 4:24pm
post #4 of 14

........don't limit yourself to the cake isle! Just wander around for awhile and keep your mind open. You will find tons of stuff..........

Yeah! You will drop many $$ icon_smile.gif

Kayakado Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kayakado Posted 12 Mar 2009 , 4:29pm
post #5 of 14

I have a degree in ceramics and sculpture. I find the type same tools valuable for fondant. I buythem in the ceramic supply catalogs and in the art and hobby stores where sculture equipment is sold.

I only use new tools for my baking, most ceramic chemicals are somewhat toxic in their raw form.