Shamrock-Shaped Cake?

Decorating By daizy744 Updated 21 Feb 2009 , 4:21pm by bizatchgirl

daizy744 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
daizy744 Posted 21 Feb 2009 , 5:01am
post #1 of 8

Hi! I'm new to CC and to cake decorating. I was asked to make a shamrock cake for St Patrick's day. I have a couple of questions and hoping you fine cake folks can help me!

I plan to use three heart-shaped cakes and lay them side-by-side to form a three leaf clover (similar to this one: http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=296853).

I will use BC icing. How do I make sure that the icing is smooth over the cake seams and doesn't crack or buckle? Do I "anchor" the cakes together?

And they want a green cake batter. So I will add green food colouring to the cake mix (like red velvet but vanilla with green color instead).
Will that much food coloring give the cake a bad taste?

Thanks in advance!

7 replies
xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 21 Feb 2009 , 6:38am
post #2 of 8

Sorry I haven't done a sculpted cake or a cake that needed to be put together but I would think it would be the same as layering a cake by having icing "binding" the cakes together (atleast that's what I think your asking icon_smile.gif ). The other thing you could do is use a template and cut a sheet cake into the shape you need.

As for the green batter I would assume it would be okay as red velvet has food colouring in it as well so it shouldn't be any different.

If you look up red velvet cake recipes you should be able to get an idea how much food colouring to add. Although if it is anything like trying to get fondant or bc red these recipes may add more colouring than you may need to get yours green.

HTH, if not maybe one of our experts will chime in!

icon_lol.gif

cupcakeco Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakeco Posted 21 Feb 2009 , 6:59am
post #3 of 8