Cookies Celebrating Charles Darwin

Baking By mawagner Updated 16 Feb 2009 , 11:08am by mawagner

mawagner Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mawagner Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 30

My DH is a biologist and his department is planning a little party to celebrate Charles Darwin's birthday next week. He has asked me to make cookies, but I have no idea what to do. I know Darwin did a lot of work with finches and the tortoise, so I thought about doing something with that, or even the Galapagos Islands. However, I don't feel like I can do a lot of detail on the cookies because I'm not very good at adding small details, so with that...does anyone have any ideas? I would appreciate any and all! TIA

29 replies
archanac Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
archanac Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 3:31pm
post #2 of 30

How about a fish with legs and the word DARWIN written on the fish--like those car emblems?

mawagner Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 3:35pm
post #3 of 30

I just looked that up, as I don't think I had seen one before. That is a great idea. I will definitely add it to my list of possibilities Thanks!

ngfcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ngfcake Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 3:35pm
post #4 of 30

What about the tree of life, representing evolution. You could make different cookies and then arrange them as in the tree. Here is a not-so-cute tree, but it might help to inspire you.

http://www.nbii.gov/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_2_3846_404_1617_43/http%3B/public-content%3B7087/publishedcontent/publish/ecological_issues/genetic_biodiversity/phylogenetic_trees_intro/tree.gif

Or some fossil cookies?

HTH

cookieman Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookieman Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 3:36pm
post #5 of 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mawagner