Donating A Cake?

Decorating By tguegirl Updated 30 Mar 2009 , 2:18pm by erinalicia

tguegirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tguegirl Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 1:31am
post #1 of 18

Hey all,
My law school is having an auction to raise money for students working in unpaid public interest internships during the summer. I showed my cake pictures to some people in charge of it, and they suggested I donate a cake. They want me to provide some photos of my previous work and offer to make someone a custom cake.

I can't decide whether to do it or not. In any event, I have a few questions.
1. Do I need a license to donate a cake?
2. Should I put restrictions on it? At first, I was thinking of doing, "decoration, flavor, date of your choice," but then i thought people might take advantage. I'm a first year law student, so I definitely don't want anything to interfere with finals. Also, do you think I should put restrictions on flavors and design too?
3. I was thinking of saying "feeding up to 50 people"- is that a lot?
4. What kind of price do you think I should anticipate getting for this?

Thanks! Just having a lot of thoughts about whether to do this or not after seeing how some people undervalue custom cakes.

17 replies
sari66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sari66 Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 4:20am
post #2 of 18

1 No you don't need a license to donate a cake
2 Yes, you should put a restriction on it. Size is up to you but I'd keep it simple in the decoration and flavor and fillings. If you have dates that you can't do it then make sure you let them know you need a two week or more time lead.
3 A cake to feed 50 is a lot!! keep it between 8-20 ppl if you can
Not sure about a price.

hth a bit

BlondiezBakery Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlondiezBakery Posted 4 Feb 2009 , 4:36am
post #3 of 18

I donated a cake, and still haven't had the person 'make good on it', yet. They paid the charity, but I haven't got a call for it.

What I did was: