Getting Really Irritated. Vent.

Business By karateka Updated 26 Jan 2009 , 3:19pm by iamlis

karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 9:44pm
post #1 of 38

I tried something new with tastings today. I decided on a once a month all day tasting. Make an appointment, you taste 3 flavors of my choosing and fillings if you want. (you choose those, just let me know ahead what ones....)

I actually filled my schedule today. 6 tastings between 2 and 8pm. One called a few hours ahead and said she had the flu and could she come next month? (Not sure I believe her....she sounded fine and perky)

First one showed up and was here 17 minutes. Called from the car to ask if this was a business or home address. Seriously....it says all over my website that I'm a home baker.

second one is the call off.

Next one is 44 minutes late.

Any money on whether the rest show up? Honestly, this is a whole day blown on this. I'm wondering how badly I want to be in this ridiculous business, where I throw away product on people who say they want it then just blow me off. Half the time they don't book me anyway, because I charge the "same as every one else" and "a home baker should be cheaper".

Can I re-freeze all this cake I made for these ungrateful, rude people? And what do I say to my family, who mopped floors, polished cherry wood furniture, cleaned windows, and shoveled snow for me? Sorry about your wasted effort on your Sunday off? icon_mad.gif

Maybe this vent will make me feel better.....thanks for listening.

37 replies
grama_j Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grama_j Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 9:54pm
post #2 of 38

Dealing with the public can be a thankless job to say the least...
((( HUGS))) and let's hope next month is better...... If not, I wouldn't do it any more...

karateka Posted 25 Jan 2009 , 10:00pm
post #3 of 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by grama_j

Dealing with the public can be a thankless job to say the least...