Jello To Flavour Buttercream???

Decorating By CookiezNCupcakez Updated 17 Jan 2009 , 1:19pm by pinkpiggie78

CookiezNCupcakez Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CookiezNCupcakez Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 6:20am
post #1 of 10

I'm new to baking and /decorating and I'm having a blast! Loving this site too icon_biggrin.gif
I'm wondering if any one had tried jello pwder to flavour buttercream and your thoughts on it..

What are your fav flavours / ways to flavour buttercream?

Thanks for any suggestions

9 replies
baycheeks1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
baycheeks1 Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 6:26am
post #2 of 10

I would like to know also

BCJean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BCJean Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 6:32am
post #3 of 10

I don't know about Jell-o, that might change the consistency but I know you can use Kool-Aid to color and flavor buttercream.

When they first started enforcing the copyright laws, in the 80's, I had been making lots of Care Bears. When I knew I could no longer do them to sell, I started making real similar ones and called them, Flavor Bears. I made the bear the color of the flavor of icing. It went over quite well for awhile.

MaisieBake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MaisieBake Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 7:59pm
post #4 of 10

I'm sure you can use it but think about flavors-- for example is what you're looking for something that tastes like strawberries or something that tastes like "strawberry"?

sweet_teeth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maryj Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maryj Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 8:08pm
post #6 of 10

If we are talking Jello gelatin, then yes I have flavored with Jello. I also use it to add flavor to fillings. I do one with with chocolate pudding, using only a little over half of the milk called for, I sprinkle in some raspberry flavored gelatin and fold that into my buttercream. It delicious.

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 15 Jan 2009 , 11:05pm
post #7 of 10