How Does One Start A Business?

Business By k33bl3r Updated 3 Jan 2009 , 4:58pm by Bonnie151

k33bl3r Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
k33bl3r Posted 3 Jan 2009 , 4:05am
post #1 of 6

I'm new to this whole thing, and not really looking to start a business tomorrow, but I would like to do it eventually as I get better at it. So, my question is, how would one even begin to start a cake decorating business? What would someone need in order to even get a business license? I'm so excited about starting this new hobby of decorating cakes, but am a little put off by the fact that I wouldn't even know how to sell one if someone wanted it. lol.

5 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 3 Jan 2009 , 5:40am
post #2 of 6

Your first step is to read almost every thread in the Business Forum. I'm not kidding. There is a GOLDMINE of info from some very knowledgeable and talented people in those threads.

Find out in your state if you can be licensed to work out of your home or if you are required to have a "real" storefront location.

And start researching your business plan. When I did mine, it took 9 months, a CPA, and an orgz that helps biz's write biz plans ... and about $2500 in fees. It's a LOT of work and can't be just thrown together over a weekend.

sari66 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sari66 Posted 3 Jan 2009 , 6:10am
post #3 of 6

Yup what indy said, I started my business 3 years ago found this site last spring and havent stopped learning from it since LOL Read, read, read then ask questions when you need to.

FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 3 Jan 2009 , 8:06am
post #4 of 6

As far as I know, you are allowed to bake from your home kitchen in Virginia so you have that working for you.