Thickness Of Crumb Coat Under Fondant?

Decorating By Someonesmommy Updated 15 Jan 2009 , 12:38am by sweettreats36

Someonesmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Someonesmommy Posted 19 Dec 2008 , 9:09am
post #1 of 14

How thick should the crumbcoat be before you cover the cake with fondant?

Im a fondant newbie and am trying to get my cakes to look and taste as good as possible.

Thanks in advance!

13 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 19 Dec 2008 , 10:51am
post #2 of 14

Hi, it shouldn't be very thick. I put mine just to cover the cake. A bit more than a crumcoat. And make sure the fondant is not too thin.

Hope that make sence.

montanabaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
montanabaker Posted 20 Dec 2008 , 5:47pm
post #3 of 14

yeah, just enough for stickiness and smooth enough so that when you smooth fondant you aren't fighting with crumbs underneath.

kimberlina25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kimberlina25 Posted 22 Dec 2008 , 7:03am
post #4 of 14

if your crumb coat is too thick, it'll make your fondant lumpy. so just a thin layer so your fondant will stick!

HTH!

sparklepopz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sparklepopz Posted 22 Dec 2008 , 7:03pm
post #5 of 14

I (and many others here) put a normal application of buttercream under fondant. If you chill your buttercream-iced cake in the freezer for about 10 minutes before applying fondant, you will be able to really work the fondant on and achieve a super-smooth finish. This also allows you to skip applying piping gel, or spritzing water, or using whatever method you use to make your buttercream sticky for the fondant to adhere to it.

Many people do not like fondant (taste, texture, whatever) so having a regular thickness of BC under the fondant allows the non-fondant-eaters to have a normal piece of cake. icon_smile.gif

sugarshack Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarshack Posted 22 Dec 2008 , 9:58pm
post #6 of 14

I trim my cake sides
crumbcoat