Is It Good To Use Fondant On Wasc??

Decorating By Rosie2 Updated 20 Dec 2008 , 4:13pm by Rosie2

Rosie2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rosie2 Posted 10 Dec 2008 , 8:46pm
post #1 of 31

I know WASC is a very moist (and delicious) cake, but I wonder if I can cover it with fondant. I'm doing my first fondant cake and I'm trying to figure out which is the best cake for it.
Also, I've read here that I should do a thin layer of buttercream under the fondant...does it has to be crusting buttercream? how long do I wait (after buttercream) before I apply the fondant. Also, any suggestions on what filling to use?
Please forgive all the questions, but I'm not an expert icon_redface.gif

Thank you!

30 replies
superstar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
superstar Posted 10 Dec 2008 , 9:49pm
post #2 of 31

Rosie, WASC is one of the best cakes to cover with fondant because although it is moist it is sturdy. I always put a full layer of BC under my fondant & you can put the fondant on as soon as you have smoothed the BC. You can use any filling you like as long as you put a really stiff dam around the cake before putting the filling in. Hope this helps.

Rosie2 Posted 10 Dec 2008 , 10:02pm
post #3 of 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by superstar

Rosie, WASC is one of the best cakes to cover with fondant because although it is moist it is sturdy. I always put a full layer of BC under my fondant & you can put the fondant on as soon as you have smoothed the BC. You can use any filling you like as long as you put a really stiff dam around the cake before putting the filling in. Hope this helps.

Ahhh, thank you so much Superstar! I will follow your advice faithfully. Yes, this is a lot of help. -
---'stiff dam' (?)...do you mean of buttercream?

deetmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
deetmar Posted 10 Dec 2008 , 10:59pm
post #4 of 31

I use it all the time. WASC is pretty much the only recipe I use, and I almost always cover it in fondant.