Help With Red Colored Buttercream

Decorating By ape74 Updated 29 Nov 2008 , 2:04am by tracey1970

ape74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ape74 Posted 26 Nov 2008 , 4:20am
post #1 of 15

Newbie here once again. I really need your advise ladies. I have two important questions about red buttercream. I am going to try to make the cute turkey cupcakes. You know? The ones with the feathers? Well, I decided to prepare my buttercream today and color everything. First of all, my red is not red. I struggled so much and never got it red. I used the Wilton No Taste Red. I even tried adding brown color, but instead I got a pinkish-mauve color. Very pretty, but not what I expected. I'm a little disappointed. I'm still going to use it though, but I know it's not perfect anymore. What did I do wrong? Was I supposed to start with chocolate buttercream just like when you color it black?

My second question is the following. I'm also going to attempt to do the peppermint cany cake that is in the Christmas gallery. The one that looks like a big peppermint candy-red and white. Anyway, if I do have to start with chocolate buttercream in order to get it red, then this is going to throw off the recipe because the girl who made the cake told me that she made peppermint icing and added peppermint snow. If I do chocolate, then it will not taste the same. I love chocolate peppermint, but this is not what I have in mind either. Any suggestions? Please help!

14 replies
Juds2323 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Juds2323 Posted 26 Nov 2008 , 4:38am
post #2 of 15

Red has to deepen over time. It does take quite a bit of coloring but eventually it doesn't really accept more color. Americolor super red is the best red out there. Once your buttercream sets it darkens too.

HTH

Judi

apetricek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
apetricek Posted 26 Nov 2008 , 4:40am
post #3 of 15