Cookie First-Timer

Baking By lkoenig07 Updated 19 Nov 2008 , 11:16pm by yankeegal

lkoenig07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lkoenig07 Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 10:13pm
post #1 of 8

Ok, so I want to try a cookie bouquet. I've never done cookies before (except for Xmas cookies a few years ago).... but I mean with the RI & everything. I'm making the cookie bouquet to bring to my bank. I have a few questions...

1) Where do most of you buy the tins/pots/etc. to hold your cookie bouquets? And do you have a piece of styrofoam or something inside to stick the sticks into?
2) What about the plastic that goes over the cookies... can you get those at JoAnn's or Michael's?
3) How many cookies is too many to put in a bouquet? How many does the average bouquet have?

Thanks!!! icon_razz.gif

7 replies
TASHA22284 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TASHA22284 Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 10:26pm
post #2 of 8

Okay, You can buy a pot or tin they go in anywhere pretty much. Look in floral sections or garden sections or holiday sections. Anywhere you see some kind of tin or pot that suits your fancy. The next thing is yes you usually have styrofoam (sp) in the bottom to stick the sticks in. Some people pipe green royal Icing with tip one in swirls to cover the foam... some poeple use tissue paper to cover it. Either way to make it look pretty you want to stick something in there. The next question about how many cookies to put in usually depends on the size of the container its in and how many people you need to serve. You don't want it over crowded but you also don't want it to empty. Hope that helps. And Good Luck, remember to post pics!

TASHA22284 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TASHA22284 Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 10:28pm
post #3 of 8

oh yeah... and yes you can get the plastic covers at Michael's and Joann's. They are just clear wrappers, they usually come in a couple different sizes with twistie ties.

mandifrye Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile