Can You Torte A Character Cake????

Decorating By Kate285 Updated 19 Nov 2008 , 5:07pm by kokopuff

Kate285 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kate285 Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 9:28pm
post #1 of 8

I am planning to make a Barney cake using a wilton Barney Cake pan for a co-worker to take to her niece's birthday. I am a newbie at cake decorating as I am in my first course of the Wilton cake decorating class at Michaels.

I was wondering if you are able to torte a character cake so that I may add a layer of strawberry filling in the middle of the cake? I wasn't sure if doing this would mess up the shape of the cake. Please give suggestions and feedbak.

Thanks a bunch!

7 replies
karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 18 Nov 2008 , 9:51pm
post #2 of 8

I haven't looked at the Barney pan, but I would think you could torte a character cake. Be sure it is far enough down the height of the cake that the extra height from the filling won't distort the design. And use a really stiff icing dam so it won't slide or bulge. Good luck!

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 19 Nov 2008 , 12:27am
post #3 of 8

If you don't want to try the injection method of filling it.

q2wheels Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
q2wheels Posted 19 Nov 2008 , 12:35am
post #4 of 8

Hi Kate,

I do it all the time! A couple of things....I tend to fill the pan a bit more than the instructions say (I use WASC and there is more than enough batter). The cake rises above the pan, good for levelling without losing too much cake. Then you have a nice, high cake to torte.

After torting, I slide a thin cutting board under the top, easier to place it back on the cake.

As stated previously, be sure your dam icing is stiff. I then let the filled cake settle for at least 2 - 4 hours (sometimes overnight) before decorating.

HTH,

Toni Ann

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kate285