Do You Have Long Fingernails?????

Decorating By sweetcravings Updated 15 May 2013 , 8:02pm by hbquikcomjamesl

sweetcravings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcravings Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 5:36pm
post #1 of 108

Well, i thought i'd start this thread since i figure there has got to be someone on CC that has beautiful long nails. What i want to know is how on earth do you keep them sooo beautifully polished with all the baking..handwashing..etc... I have always kept my nails very short, being a nurse i had to. Well since i stopped working i continued to cut them short, no polish etc.. Lately though it seems like my nails are growing like crazy. I trim and they are long again. So i decided to put polish on them the other day and wouldn't you know it by that evening they were already chipped, and they are now looking dreadful. So i'm trying to decide do i just give up on the polished nails as this is impossible to maintain in this line of work or is there a trick you all use??? Please do tell.

107 replies
VannaD Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VannaD Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 5:47pm
post #2 of 108

My nails stay long, until I do a cake. Im not a professional, but i make sure there's no polish on my nails before i mess with fondant or gumpaste, and i also cut them before i do a cake. I cant stand fingernail marks in he fondant..gag, and if i dont take off the polish, the fondant will take it off for me. Im interested to see what others say, I know a lot of people wear gloves, i bet that helps.

dragonflydreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dragonflydreams Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 5:49pm
post #3 of 108

. . . NOT ME . . . but tonedna does . . . as you can see in her viedos . . . .

. . . so Edna . . . how about a tutorial on how to grow and "work with" lovely long nails . . . (I don't know how you do it) . . . icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

sweetcravings Posted 11 Nov 2008 , 5:53pm
post #4 of 108